Budget
  • F-35 Deliveries Halted Over Repair Bill

    By Michael Rainey

    The F-35 Lightning II has yet to fire a shot in anger but the Pentagon is already arguing with manufacturer Lockheed Martin over a big repair bill. The Defense Department has stopped accepting most...

  • FILE PHOTO: An aerial view of the Pentagon building in Washington

    This State's a Big Winner When It Comes to Defense Spending

    By Michael Rainey

    Spending on huge weapons programs like the F-35, which has an estimated lifetime cost of more than $1 trillion, is carefully spread around the country to maximize its economic impact – and to make it...

  • State Pension Funds Fall Deeper in the Hole

    By Michael Rainey

    State pension plans are facing a massive $1.4 trillion funding gap, according to a new analysis from the Pew Charitable Trust. Pension liabilities in all 50 states increased by $295 billion to...

  • Why Trillion-Dollar Deficits Matter

    The Congressional Budget Office confirmed this week that the deficit is on pace to surpass $1 trillion in 2020 and climb higher from there barring action by leaders in Washington, potentially...

  • Logistics Specialist Seaman Alison Wise mans the rails aboard the U.S. Navy aircraft carrier USS Harry S. Truman in Norfolk

    Cost of War in Syria Is Rising

    By Michael Rainey

    President Trump said last week that he wanted to remove U.S. troops from Syria as soon as possible, but resistance from the Pentagon apparently changed his mind, and new reports that Syrian forces...

Budget Directory

Tags
Friday, August 9, 2013 - 5:21pm
Friday, August 2, 2013 - 12:15pm
Wednesday, July 31, 2013 - 12:16am
Tuesday, July 30, 2013 - 1:26pm
Wednesday, April 10, 2013 - 11:21pm
Wednesday, April 10, 2013 - 1:15pm
Friday, March 22, 2013 - 12:03am
Wednesday, March 20, 2013 - 12:04am
Sunday, March 10, 2013 - 12:02am
Sunday, March 3, 2013 - 4:49pm
Friday, March 1, 2013 - 12:03am
Tuesday, February 26, 2013 - 12:20am
Monday, February 25, 2013 - 12:05am
Sunday, February 24, 2013 - 12:16am
Tuesday, February 19, 2013 - 11:21am
Monday, February 18, 2013 - 9:36pm
Friday, February 15, 2013 - 12:05am
Thursday, February 14, 2013 - 12:10am
Wednesday, February 13, 2013 - 11:41am
Wednesday, February 6, 2013 - 2:24pm
Wednesday, February 6, 2013 - 8:30am
Wednesday, February 6, 2013 - 12:06am
Monday, February 4, 2013 - 2:12pm
Friday, January 25, 2013 - 12:30am
Wednesday, January 23, 2013 - 9:30pm
Monday, January 21, 2013 - 12:06am
Friday, January 18, 2013 - 12:01am
Tuesday, January 15, 2013 - 12:02am
Monday, January 14, 2013 - 2:27pm
Wednesday, January 9, 2013 - 12:11am
Monday, January 7, 2013 - 12:30am
Sunday, January 6, 2013 - 9:20pm
Thursday, January 3, 2013 - 12:51am
Monday, December 31, 2012 - 12:14am
Monday, December 31, 2012 - 12:04am
Sunday, December 30, 2012 - 11:25am
Tuesday, December 18, 2012 - 12:25pm
Tuesday, December 18, 2012 - 12:03am
Monday, December 17, 2012 - 12:30am
Thursday, December 13, 2012 - 12:50pm
Wednesday, December 12, 2012 - 12:14am
Tuesday, December 4, 2012 - 12:09am

Pages