Policy + Politics
  • FILE PHOTO: The U.S. Capitol is seen from behind trees after President Donald Trump and the U.S. Congress failed to reach a deal on funding for federal agencies in Washington, U.S., January 20, 2018.      REUTERS/Joshua Roberts

    Factbox: What happens in a U.S. government shutdown?

    By Richard Cowan and Susan Cornwell and Amanda Becker and Richard Cowan and Susan Cornwell and Amanda Becker, Reuters

    In shutdowns, nonessential government employees are furloughed, or placed on temporary unpaid leave. Workers deemed essential, including those dealing with public safety and national security, keep...

  • FILE PHOTO: A pharmacist holds prescription painkiller OxyContin at a local pharmacy in Provo

    Delaware Sues Opioid Manufacturers, Distributors Over Epidemic

    By Nate Raymond, Reuters

    (Reuters) - Delaware on Friday became the latest state to file a lawsuit accusing corporations of helping fuel the national opioid epidemic, suing a wide range of companies involved in making,...

  • FILE PHOTO: President Trump attends a signing ceremony for the Interdict Act into law, to provide Customs and Border Protection agents with the latest screening technology on the fight against the opioid crisis, in the Oval Office of the White House, Jan

    Trump Vows to Campaign Intensively for Republicans, May Avoid Primaries

    By James Oliphant, Reuters

    WASHINGTON (Reuters) - President Donald Trump said on Wednesday that he plans to devote much of his time this year to helping Republicans maintain control of the U.S. Congress, but suggested he may...

  • FILE PHOTO: U.S. President Donald Trump delivers a speech on tax reform legislation at the White House in Washington, U.S., December 13, 2017. REUTERS/Carlos Barria

    Trump Tries to Sell Tax Reform to Democrats

    By David Morgan, Reuters

    WASHINGTON (Reuters) - President Donald Trump intensified his efforts to sell Democrats on his tax reform plan on Wednesday even as Senate Republicans edged closer to passing a budget measure that...

  • FILE PHOTO: U.S. Homeland Security Secretary Jeh Johnson (L) listens to Representative Tom Marino (R-PA) (R) before a House Judiciary committee hearing on the 'Oversight of the US Department of Homeland Security' on Capitol Hill in Washington July 14, 20

    Trump's drug czar nominee withdraws from consideration

    By Sarah N. Lynch and Makini Brice, Reuters

    WASHINGTON (Reuters) - The U.S. lawmaker who was President Donald Trump's pick for drug czar withdrew on Tuesday after a report he spearheaded a bill that hurt the government's ability to crack down...

Policy + Politics Directory

Tags
Friday, December 5, 2014 - 5:15am
Wednesday, November 12, 2014 - 5:15am
Wednesday, October 29, 2014 - 12:15am
Wednesday, October 8, 2014 - 3:31pm
Wednesday, October 8, 2014 - 3:03pm
Sunday, October 5, 2014 - 8:15am
Friday, October 3, 2014 - 11:49am
Thursday, October 2, 2014 - 12:30pm
Wednesday, October 1, 2014 - 12:59pm
Friday, September 26, 2014 - 3:15pm
Tuesday, September 16, 2014 - 1:28pm
Monday, September 15, 2014 - 6:00am
Friday, September 5, 2014 - 2:00pm
Thursday, September 4, 2014 - 5:30am
Tuesday, September 2, 2014 - 6:15am
Tuesday, August 12, 2014 - 6:00am
Monday, August 11, 2014 - 1:04pm
Thursday, July 31, 2014 - 1:00pm
Wednesday, July 30, 2014 - 2:20pm
Wednesday, July 30, 2014 - 5:45am
Wednesday, July 16, 2014 - 12:58pm
Tuesday, July 8, 2014 - 5:45am
Monday, July 7, 2014 - 10:18am
Thursday, June 26, 2014 - 12:15pm
Tuesday, June 24, 2014 - 2:23pm
Thursday, June 19, 2014 - 10:00am
Wednesday, June 18, 2014 - 6:02pm
Thursday, June 12, 2014 - 6:00am
Friday, June 6, 2014 - 10:15am
Friday, June 6, 2014 - 5:15am

Pages