Taxes
  • 		<p>Capital loss rules dictate that if you make a legitimate loan to someone with an official note, even if it’s your brother-in-law, you can write the money off if you don’t get paid back, up to $3,000 a year with a maximum of $10,000 total. Caveat: “If

    The Devil Is in the Details: Differences That Could Doom the Tax Bill

    By Michael Rainey

    The House and Senate tax plans have much in common, but there are significant differences as well, any number of which could become flash points when the chambers seek to reconcile their versions of...

  • 10 Senators Who Could Determine the Fate of GOP Tax Plan

    The House passed its version of the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act to much fanfare on Thursday, and the Senate Finance Committee followed suit several hours later, setting up a vote on the legislation by the...

  • Senate Majority Leader Senator Mitch McConnell (R-KY) attends a news conference following party policy lunch meeting at the U.S. Capitol in Washington. REUTERS/Carlos Barria

    The Tax Battle Shifts to the Senate

    By David Morgan and Amanda Becker, Reuters

    Congressional Republicans took important steps on Thursday toward the biggest U.S. tax-code overhaul since the 1980s, with the House of Representatives approving a broad package of tax cuts, and a...

  • U.S. Senator Jeff Flake (R-AZ) talks to reporters as he arrives for the weekly Republican party caucus luncheon at the U.S. Capitol in Washington, U.S. October 31, 2017.  REUTERS/Jonathan Ernst

    Major US Tax Cuts Not Likely This Year, Economists Say

    By Indradip Ghosh and Rahul Karunakar, Reuters

    BENGALURU (Reuters) - U.S. Republicans are not expected to push major tax cuts through Congress this year, according to a majority of economists in a Reuters poll, who in any case were skeptical that...

  • Brady Ryan GOP Tax Plan

    House Passes Major Tax Overhaul Bill

    By David Morgan and Amanda Becker, Reuters

    The U.S. House of Representatives approved a broad package of tax cuts affecting businesses, individuals and families on Thursday, moving Republicans and President Donald Trump an important step...

Taxes Directory

Tags
Thursday, November 9, 2017 - 5:00pm
Monday, November 6, 2017 - 3:17pm
Thursday, November 2, 2017 - 12:36pm
Wednesday, November 1, 2017 - 5:25pm
Wednesday, October 25, 2017 - 5:26pm
Tuesday, October 24, 2017 - 4:15pm
Wednesday, October 4, 2017 - 4:00pm
Thursday, September 28, 2017 - 3:30pm
Wednesday, September 27, 2017 - 3:45pm
Wednesday, September 27, 2017 - 12:33pm
Thursday, September 21, 2017 - 8:15am
Wednesday, September 13, 2017 - 11:59am
Tuesday, September 12, 2017 - 11:11am
Tuesday, September 12, 2017 - 10:30am
Wednesday, September 6, 2017 - 1:10pm
Thursday, August 31, 2017 - 4:11pm
Wednesday, August 30, 2017 - 5:00pm
Wednesday, August 30, 2017 - 11:45am
Thursday, August 24, 2017 - 11:19am
Wednesday, May 17, 2017 - 4:45pm

Pages