Taxes
  • 		<p>Capital loss rules dictate that if you make a legitimate loan to someone with an official note, even if it’s your brother-in-law, you can write the money off if you don’t get paid back, up to $3,000 a year with a maximum of $10,000 total. Caveat: “If

    The Devil Is in the Details: Differences That Could Doom the Tax Bill

    By Michael Rainey

    The House and Senate tax plans have much in common, but there are significant differences as well, any number of which could become flash points when the chambers seek to reconcile their versions of...

  • 10 Senators Who Could Determine the Fate of GOP Tax Plan

    The House passed its version of the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act to much fanfare on Thursday, and the Senate Finance Committee followed suit several hours later, setting up a vote on the legislation by the...

  • Senate Majority Leader Senator Mitch McConnell (R-KY) attends a news conference following party policy lunch meeting at the U.S. Capitol in Washington. REUTERS/Carlos Barria

    The Tax Battle Shifts to the Senate

    By David Morgan and Amanda Becker, Reuters

    Congressional Republicans took important steps on Thursday toward the biggest U.S. tax-code overhaul since the 1980s, with the House of Representatives approving a broad package of tax cuts, and a...

  • An aide adjusts a sign prior to a news conference announcing the passage of the "Tax Cuts and Jobs Act" at the U.S. Capitol in Washington, U.S., November 16, 2017. REUTERS/Aaron P. Bernstein

    Major US Tax Cuts Not Likely This Year, Economists Say

    By Indradip Ghosh and Rahul Karunakar, Reuters

    BENGALURU (Reuters) - U.S. Republicans are not expected to push major tax cuts through Congress this year, according to a majority of economists in a Reuters poll, who in any case were skeptical that...

  • Brady Ryan GOP Tax Plan

    House Passes Major Tax Overhaul Bill

    By David Morgan and Amanda Becker, Reuters

    The U.S. House of Representatives approved a broad package of tax cuts affecting businesses, individuals and families on Thursday, moving Republicans and President Donald Trump an important step...

Taxes Directory

Tags
Thursday, April 11, 2013 - 12:14am
Monday, February 4, 2013 - 3:42pm
Thursday, November 8, 2012 - 2:52pm
Wednesday, November 7, 2012 - 2:00pm
Tuesday, November 6, 2012 - 8:30pm
Tuesday, November 6, 2012 - 12:05am
Friday, November 2, 2012 - 12:38pm
Friday, November 2, 2012 - 9:44am
Tuesday, October 30, 2012 - 12:14am
Friday, October 26, 2012 - 12:07am
Tuesday, October 23, 2012 - 1:15pm
Friday, October 19, 2012 - 12:45pm
Friday, October 19, 2012 - 12:04am
Thursday, October 18, 2012 - 12:07am
Wednesday, October 17, 2012 - 11:30am
Wednesday, October 17, 2012 - 12:15am
Tuesday, October 16, 2012 - 2:40pm
Tuesday, October 16, 2012 - 11:30am
Monday, October 15, 2012 - 2:36pm
Monday, October 15, 2012 - 12:09am
Friday, October 12, 2012 - 12:01am
Thursday, October 11, 2012 - 3:48pm
Thursday, October 11, 2012 - 10:48am
Wednesday, October 10, 2012 - 12:01am
Tuesday, October 9, 2012 - 5:10pm
Tuesday, October 9, 2012 - 12:20am
Monday, October 8, 2012 - 12:04am
Thursday, October 4, 2012 - 1:33am
Wednesday, October 3, 2012 - 11:23pm
Wednesday, October 3, 2012 - 12:56pm
Wednesday, October 3, 2012 - 12:04am
Friday, September 28, 2012 - 12:03am
Thursday, September 27, 2012 - 12:05am
Wednesday, September 26, 2012 - 2:46pm
Wednesday, September 26, 2012 - 12:30am
Tuesday, September 25, 2012 - 9:55pm
Tuesday, September 25, 2012 - 12:03am
Sunday, September 23, 2012 - 12:25am
Tuesday, September 18, 2012 - 4:03pm
Tuesday, September 18, 2012 - 12:22am
Monday, September 17, 2012 - 12:17am
Thursday, September 13, 2012 - 12:30am
Wednesday, September 12, 2012 - 12:02am
Tuesday, September 11, 2012 - 12:12am
Monday, September 10, 2012 - 11:30am
Friday, September 7, 2012 - 12:34pm
Friday, September 7, 2012 - 12:30am
Friday, September 7, 2012 - 12:30am

Pages