Taxes
  • 		<p>Capital loss rules dictate that if you make a legitimate loan to someone with an official note, even if it’s your brother-in-law, you can write the money off if you don’t get paid back, up to $3,000 a year with a maximum of $10,000 total. Caveat: “If

    The Devil Is in the Details: Differences That Could Doom the Tax Bill

    By Michael Rainey

    The House and Senate tax plans have much in common, but there are significant differences as well, any number of which could become flash points when the chambers seek to reconcile their versions of...

  • 10 Senators Who Could Determine the Fate of GOP Tax Plan

    The House passed its version of the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act to much fanfare on Thursday, and the Senate Finance Committee followed suit several hours later, setting up a vote on the legislation by the...

  • Senate Majority Leader Senator Mitch McConnell (R-KY) attends a news conference following party policy lunch meeting at the U.S. Capitol in Washington. REUTERS/Carlos Barria

    The Tax Battle Shifts to the Senate

    By David Morgan and Amanda Becker, Reuters

    Congressional Republicans took important steps on Thursday toward the biggest U.S. tax-code overhaul since the 1980s, with the House of Representatives approving a broad package of tax cuts, and a...

  • U.S. Senator Jeff Flake (R-AZ) talks to reporters as he arrives for the weekly Republican party caucus luncheon at the U.S. Capitol in Washington, U.S. October 31, 2017.  REUTERS/Jonathan Ernst

    Major US Tax Cuts Not Likely This Year, Economists Say

    By Indradip Ghosh and Rahul Karunakar, Reuters

    BENGALURU (Reuters) - U.S. Republicans are not expected to push major tax cuts through Congress this year, according to a majority of economists in a Reuters poll, who in any case were skeptical that...

  • Brady Ryan GOP Tax Plan

    House Passes Major Tax Overhaul Bill

    By David Morgan and Amanda Becker, Reuters

    The U.S. House of Representatives approved a broad package of tax cuts affecting businesses, individuals and families on Thursday, moving Republicans and President Donald Trump an important step...

Taxes Directory

Tags
Thursday, October 31, 2013 - 5:45am
Friday, October 11, 2013 - 4:15am
Sunday, April 7, 2013 - 12:30am
Tuesday, March 12, 2013 - 5:55pm
Monday, March 11, 2013 - 12:05am
Sunday, March 3, 2013 - 12:04am
Friday, March 1, 2013 - 3:59pm
Friday, March 1, 2013 - 12:03am
Monday, February 25, 2013 - 12:02am
Monday, February 18, 2013 - 9:36pm
Tuesday, February 12, 2013 - 2:15pm
Friday, February 8, 2013 - 12:02am
Monday, February 4, 2013 - 2:12pm
Monday, January 14, 2013 - 12:07am
Wednesday, January 2, 2013 - 3:46pm
Monday, December 31, 2012 - 2:00pm
Thursday, December 27, 2012 - 12:08am
Monday, December 24, 2012 - 12:03am
Monday, November 26, 2012 - 12:20am
Wednesday, November 21, 2012 - 6:01pm
Friday, November 16, 2012 - 12:09am
Friday, November 16, 2012 - 12:01am
Thursday, November 15, 2012 - 2:08pm
Tuesday, November 13, 2012 - 2:57pm
Sunday, November 11, 2012 - 12:30am
Tuesday, October 23, 2012 - 1:15pm
Wednesday, October 17, 2012 - 12:14am
Tuesday, October 9, 2012 - 12:00am
Friday, October 5, 2012 - 12:30am
Thursday, October 4, 2012 - 2:33pm
Thursday, October 4, 2012 - 12:03am
Tuesday, October 2, 2012 - 3:08pm
Tuesday, October 2, 2012 - 12:07am
Monday, September 17, 2012 - 12:17am
Friday, September 14, 2012 - 4:56pm
Wednesday, September 12, 2012 - 12:03am
Sunday, August 19, 2012 - 12:30am
Wednesday, August 1, 2012 - 3:57pm
Friday, July 20, 2012 - 12:17am
Thursday, July 12, 2012 - 12:04am
Friday, June 8, 2012 - 12:38am